Flag of Nauru


Nauru, officially the Republic of Nauru and formerly known as Pleasant Island, is an island country and microstate in Micronesia, part of Oceania in the Central Pacific. Its nearest neighbour is Banaba of Kiribati, about 300 km to the east.


Our standard dataset contains 158 entities connected with Nauru. This may include sanctioned entities, politically-exposed persons (PEPs), and their close associates, or entities involved in criminal activity.

Data sources

We are currently not including any data published by authorities or organizations based in Nauru. See our global list of data sources and our criteria for selecting datasets.

Politically-exposed persons (PEPs)

Our database contains 65 entities identified as PEPs connected with Nauru.

National government positions

Number of known occupants
Head of state or governmentCurrentEndedStatus unclear
National executive branchesCurrentEndedStatus unclear
Deputy Minister for Cenpac Inc. Corporation-2-
Deputy Minister for Education-1-
Deputy Minister for Health and Medical Services-1-
Deputy Minister for Justice-1-
Deputy Minister for Naoero Postal Services Corporation-1-
Deputy Minister for National Emergency Services-1-
Deputy Minister for Ronphos-1-
Deputy Minister for Telecommunications and Media-1-
Minister Assisting the President1--
Minister for CENPAC Cooperation1--
Minister For Climate Change-1-
Minister for Climate Change & National Resilience1--
Minister for Commerce, Industry & Environment-1-
Minister for Education-1-
Minister for Education1--
Minister for Eigigu Holding Corporation11-
Minister for Eigigu Procurement Limited11-
Minister for Environmental Management-1-
Minister for Environmental Management & Agriculture1--
Minister for Finance & Sustainable Development1--
Minister for Fisheries11-
Minister for Foreign Affairs & Trade1--
Minister for Health12-
Minister for ICT-1-
Minister for Information, Communication, & Technology1--
Minister for Infrastructure Development-1-
Minister for Infrastructure Development1--
Minister for Internal Affairs1--
Minister for Justice & Border Control12-
Minister for Land Management11-
Minister for Media-1-
Minister for Media1--
Minister for Multicultural Affairs11-
Minister for Naoero Museum & Heritage1--
Minister for Naoero Postal Services Corporation-1-
Minister for Naoero Postal Services Corporation1--
Minister for National Emergency Services1--
Minister for National Resilience-1-
Minister for Nauru Air Corporation1--
Minister for Nauru Fiber Cable Corporation-1-
Minister for Nauru Fiber Cable Corporation1--
Minister for Nauru Phosphate Royalties Trust-1-
Minister for Nauru Phosphate Royalties Trust1--
Minister for Nauru Police Force11-
Minister for Nauru Port Authority1--
Minister for Nauru Rehabilitation Corporation-1-
Minister for Nauru Rehabilitation Corporation1--
Minister for Nauru RPC Corporation1--
Minister for Nauru Shipping Line1--
Minister for Nauru Sports Development1--
Minister for Nauru Sports Development Inc-1-
Minister for Nauru Tourism Corporation1--
Minister for Nauru Utilities Corporation11-
Minister for People Living with Disabilities11-
Minister for Public Service11-
Minister for Ronphos1--
Minister for Ronphos-1-
Minister for Sports-2-
Minister for Sports1--
Minister for Transport11-
Minister for Women & Social Development Affairs1--
National legislative branchCurrentEndedStatus unclear
Member of Parliament-267
Diplomatic rolesCurrentEndedStatus unclear
Ambassador to the US1--
Nauran Ambassador to China--1
Permanent Representative to the UN, New York1--

Subnational government positions

No positions for this category

Other positions

Number of known occupants
PositionCurrentEndedStatus unclear
Member of the Parliament of Nauru-22-
Minister for Finance-9-
President of Nauru-61
Chief Justice of Nauru-11
Minister for Home Affairs-2-
Deputy Minister for Eigigu Holding Corporation-1-
Deputy Minister for Eigigu Solutions Corporation-1-
Deputy Minister for Finance and Sustainable Development-1-
Deputy Minister for Foreign Affairs and Trade-1-
Deputy Minister for ICT-1-
Deputy Minister for Internal Affairs-1-
Deputy Minister for Land Management-1-
Deputy Minister for Multicultural Affairs-1-
Deputy Minister for Nauru Air Corporation-1-
Deputy Minister for Nauru National Heritage & Museum-1-
Deputy Minister for Nauru Port Authority-1-
Deputy Minister for Nauru RPC Corporation-1-
Deputy Minister for Nauru Tourism Corporation-1-
Deputy Minister for People Living with Disabilities-1-
Deputy Minister for Public Service-1-
Deputy Minister for Women-1-
Minister for Foreign Affairs-1-
Minister for Nauru Emergency Services-1-
Minister for Women-1-

What do these numbers mean?

We keep track both if political positions and the individuals who occupy those positions over time. Of course, a person can hold a position for multiple terms, and multiple people can occupy the same position at the same time (e.g. members of parliament).

If a person previously held a position, and currently holds the same position, they are only counted once and recorded under Current. If it is unclear from the source whether they have left the position, they will be counted under Unclear.

How can status be unclear?

Some of the data sources we rely on indicate both past and present holders of political offices. In those cases, a lack of a precise end date for a person's occupancy of a position can mean that we don't know whether they currently hold the position or not. Read more...