Flag of the French Southern Territories

French Southern Territories

The French Southern and Antarctic Lands (French: Terres australes et antarctiques françaises, TAAF) consists of Adélie Land (Terre Adélie); Crozet Islands (Îles Crozet); Kerguelen Islands (Archipel des Kerguelen); Saint Paul and Amsterdam Islands (Îles Saint Paul et Amsterdam); and Scattered Islands (Îles Éparses)
See also: France


Our standard dataset contains 2 entities connected with the French Southern Territories. This may include sanctioned entities, politically-exposed persons (PEPs), and their close associates, or entities involved in criminal activity.

Entity types

Data sources

We are currently not including any data published by authorities or organizations based in the French Southern Territories. See our global list of data sources and our criteria for selecting datasets.

Politically-exposed persons (PEPs)

Our database contains 1 entity identified as PEPs connected with the French Southern Territories.

National government positions

Number of known occupants
Head of state or governmentCurrentEndedStatus unclear

Subnational government positions

No positions for this category

What do these numbers mean?

We keep track both if political positions and the individuals who occupy those positions over time. Of course, a person can hold a position for multiple terms, and multiple people can occupy the same position at the same time (e.g. members of parliament).

If a person previously held a position, and currently holds the same position, they are only counted once and recorded under Current. If it is unclear from the source whether they have left the position, they will be counted under Unclear.

How can status be unclear?

Some of the data sources we rely on indicate both past and present holders of political offices. In those cases, a lack of a precise end date for a person's occupancy of a position can mean that we don't know whether they currently hold the position or not. Read more...