Flag of Malaysia


Malaysia is a country in Southeast Asia. The federal constitutional monarchy consists of 13 states and three federal territories, separated by the South China Sea into two regions: Peninsular Malaysia and Borneo's East Malaysia.


Our standard dataset contains 1,902 entities connected with Malaysia. This may include sanctioned entities, politically-exposed persons (PEPs), and their close associates, or entities involved in criminal activity.

Data sources

We currently include 3 data sources published by authorities or organizations based in Malaysia. See our global list of data sources and our criteria for selecting datasets.

Malaysia Securities Commission AOB EnforcementsSuruhanjaya Sekuriti Malaysiaupdated daily59
Malaysia's Financial Consumer Alert ListBank Negara Malaysianot updated502
Malaysian MOHA Sanctions ListMinistry of Home Affairs (Kementerian Dalam Negeri)not updated124

Politically-exposed persons (PEPs)

Our database contains 905 entities identified as PEPs connected with Malaysia.

National government positions

Number of known occupants
Head of state or governmentCurrentEndedStatus unclear
Deputy Prime Minister2--
Prime Minister1--
National executive branchesCurrentEndedStatus unclear
Minister in Charge of Sabah and Sarawak Affairs1--
Minister in the Prime Minister's Department (Religious Affairs)121
Minister in the Prime Minister's Department for Law & Institutional Reform1--
Minister in the Prime Minister’s Department for Federal Territories1--
Minister of Agriculture & Food Security1--
Minister of Communications1--
Minister of Defence171
Minister of Digital1--
Minister of Domestic Trade & Cost of Living1--
Minister of Economy1--
Minister of Education141
Minister of Energy Transition and Public Utilities1--
Minister of Entrepreneur Development & Cooperatives1--
Minister of Finance 217-
Minister of Finance II1--
Minister of Foreign Affairs17-
Minister of Health17-
Minister of Higher Education13-
Minister of Home Affairs13-
Minister of Human Resources12-
Minister of International Trade & Industry16-
Minister of Local Government Development1--
Minister of National Unity11-
Minister of Natural Resources and Sustainability1--
Minister of Plantation Industries & Commodities1--
Minister of Rural and Regional Development14-
Minister of Science, Technology and Innovation121
Minister of Tourism, Arts & Culture121
Minister of Transport13-
Minister of Women, Family and Community Development111
Minister of Works1--
Minister of Youth and Sports15-
National legislative branchCurrentEndedStatus unclear
Member of the Dewan Rakyat-517145
Diplomatic rolesCurrentEndedStatus unclear
Ambassador of China to Malaysia-21
ambassador of Denmark to Malaysia-1-
ambassador of France to Malaysia-41
ambassador of Hungary to Malaysia--2
ambassador of Iran to Malaysia-21
ambassador of Japan to Malaysia-4-
ambassador of Malaysia to Bosnia and Herzegovina-1-
Ambassador of Malaysia to Indonesia-21
ambassador of Malaysia to Jordan-1-
Ambassador of Malaysia to Spain-1-
ambassador of Malaysia to the Czech Republic-2-
ambassador of Malaysia to the Netherlands--1
ambassador of Palestine to Malaysia-21
Ambassador to the US1--
Permanent Representative to the UN, New York1--

Subnational government positions

Number of known occupants
Subnational head of state or governmentCurrentEndedStatus unclear
Mayor of Kuala Lumpur--1

Other positions

Number of known occupants
PositionCurrentEndedStatus unclear
Member of the 16th Sabah State Legislative Assembly--77
Member of the Dewan Negara4189
member of the Perak State Legislative Assembly-131
member of the Kelantan State Legislative Assembly--10
Minister in the Prime Minister's Department-9-
Parliamentary Secretary-36
Deputy Prime Minister of Malaysia-51
Minister of Agriculture and Food Industries-51
Prime Minister of Malaysia-51
Minister of Domestic Trade and Living Costs-5-
Minister of Urban Wellbeing, Housing and Local Government-41
Senior minister of Malaysia-5-
Yang di-Pertuan Agong-41
Attorney General of Malaysia-31
member of the Johor State Legislative Assembly-22
Member of the Sabah State Legislative Assembly--4
member of the Sarawak State Legislative Assembly-22
Member of the Terengganu State Legislative Assembly-13
Speaker of the Dewan Rakyat-4-
Special Adviser to the Prime Minister of Malaysia-4-
Deputy Chief Minister of Sabah--3
Minister of Entrepreneur Development (Malaysia)-21
Minister of Natural Resources and Environment-3-
Minister of Plantation and Commodities-3-
Minister of Works-21
Political Secretary (Malaysia)--3
Yang di-Pertua Negeri of Sarawak-21
Chief Minister of Penang--2
Chief Minister of Sabah--2
Director-General of the Public Service Department (Malaysia)-11
Governor of Central Bank of Malaysia-2-
Malaysia's Leader of the Opposition-2-
member of the Kedah State Legislative Assembly-11
member of the Melaka State Legislative Assembly-11
member of the Perlis State Legislative Assembly-11
Menteri Besar of Kelantan-11
Menteris Besar of Perlis--2
Minister of Communications and Multimedia-2-
state secretary of Kedah-11
Attorney General1--
Chairman of the Election Commission of Malaysia--1
Chief Minister of Malacca-1-
Chief of Defence Forces (Malaysia)-1-
Chief Secretary to the Government of Malaysia-1-
Deputy Minister in the Prime Minister's Department (Religious Affairs)-1-
Deputy of the Menteri Besar of Kelantan--1
Deputy Yang di-Pertuan Agong--1
Dewan Negara--1
district officer of Jelebu District--1
district officer of Jempol District--1
district officer of Port Dickson District--1
district officer of Rembau District--1
district officer of Seremban District--1
district officer of Tampin District--1
Governor, Bank Negara Malaysia1--
King of Perlis--1
Malaysian High Commissioner to the United Kingdom--1
member of Selangor State Legislative Assembly--1
Member of the Dewan Negara, 14th Malaysian Parliament-1-
Menteri Besar of Johor-1-
Menteri Besar of Terengganu--1
Menteris Besar of Selangor--1
Minister of Agriculture and Fisheries--1
Minister of Economic Affairs (Malaysia)--1
Minister of Environment and Water-1-
Minister of Federal Territories-1-
Minister of Works--1
Ministry of Energy and Natural Resources--1
Ministry of Women, Family and Community Development--1
Premier of Sarawak--1
Sabah Finance Minister--1
Sabah State Secretary--1
Secretary General of the Ministry of Environment and Water--1
Speaker of the Kelantan State Legislative Assembly--1
Special Envoy of the Prime Minister of Malaysia-1-
Spouse of the Deputy Prime Minister of Malaysia-1-
Spouse of the Prime Minister of Malaysia-1-
State Mufti of Perak-1-
State Mufti of Perlis--1
Sultan of Johor--1
Sultan of Kelantan--1
Sultan of Pahang--1
Sultan of Perak--1
Sultan of Selangor--1
Sultan of Terengganu--1
Yang di-Pertua Negeri of Sabah--1

What do these numbers mean?

We keep track both if political positions and the individuals who occupy those positions over time. Of course, a person can hold a position for multiple terms, and multiple people can occupy the same position at the same time (e.g. members of parliament).

If a person previously held a position, and currently holds the same position, they are only counted once and recorded under Current. If it is unclear from the source whether they have left the position, they will be counted under Unclear.

How can status be unclear?

Some of the data sources we rely on indicate both past and present holders of political offices. In those cases, a lack of a precise end date for a person's occupancy of a position can mean that we don't know whether they currently hold the position or not. Read more...