Members of the European Parliament

A set of all the members of the European Union's parliament, which are elected per member state.

Members of the European Parliament (MEPs) are elected for a five-year term through a European-wide election conducted in each member state. Member states have different contingents of MEPs based on their voting population. MEPs are organised into groups, which are formed from the representatives of national parties aligned with that group.

Data overview

Entity count:705 target entities · 918 searchable entities · 2,301 total
Entity types:
28 countries · Show overview...
Publisher:European Parliament (European Union)

The European Parliament is the legislative branch of the European Union. Together with the Council of the European Union and the European Commission it devises and adopts European legislation.

Source data:www.europarl.europa.eu (XML)
Collections:in OpenSanctions Default · Politically Exposed Persons (PEPs)
Last changed:

Bulk download

Downloads contain the full set of entities contained in this dataset. You can fetch a simplified tabular form, or detailed, structured data in JSON format. Updated files will be provided once a day at the same location.

File nameExport typeSize
entities.ftm.jsonFollowTheMoney entities798 kB
names.txtTarget names text file17 kB
senzing.jsonSenzing entity format199 kB
source.xmlSource data172 kB
targets.nested.jsonTargets as nested JSON1 MB
targets.simple.csvTargets as simplified CSV103 kB

Help: Using the data · format reference · identifier use · commercial licensing

Using the API

You can query the data in this dataset via the application programming interface (API) endpoints below. Please read the introduction for documentation and terms of service.

Use the Reconciliation API in OpenRefine:
For full-text search, use the /search endpoint:
For entity matching, use the /match endpoint:

Recent additions

The following targeted entities have been added to this data source most recently:

Beatrice COVASSIPersonItaly · European Union
Erik POULSENPersonDenmark
Bergur Løkke RasmussenPersonDenmark · European Union
Anders VISTISENPersonDenmark · European Union
Denis NESCIPersonItaly
Matteo GAZZINIPersonItaly
Eleni STAVROUPersonCyprus
Elisabetta De BlasisPersonEuropean Union · Italy
Maria Angela DANZÌPersonItaly
Paola GHIDONIPersonItaly